Skip links

Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) is the Canadian national police service and an agency of the Ministry of Public Safety Canada. THE RCMP is unique in that it is a national, federal, provincial and municipal policing body.

The RCMP’s 28,000 staff provides policing to all Canadians and is present in eight provinces (except Ontario and Quebec). The force’s scope of operations now includes organised crime, terrorism, illicit drugs, economic crimes and offences that threaten the integrity of Canada’s national borders.

In May 1873 the Parliament of Canada established a central police force which was made up of 150 recruits sent to Manitoba and named theN orth-West Mounted Police (NWMP).  During 1847 its members marched to Alberta and established a permanent post at Fort Macleod where half of its recruits, now up to 275 members, were posted. The rest were sent to Fort Edmonton of Fort Pelly.

In 1919 the NWMP decided to merge with the Dominion Police and together they would be named the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. After World War II the RCMP expanded and its role changed to a provincial force.

In 1974 the first women was accepted into the force and its responsibilities expanded to airport policing VIP security and drug enforcement.
Wyedean manufacture the trouser striping for the RCMP.